I need help with starting my darkpsy production career

Music creation & DJ mixing, how tos questions, discussions & help ~~~ Musical Software/hardware/skills etc...
aaletjern
We have a pulse!
We have a pulse!

I need help with starting my darkpsy production career

Post by aaletjern » Sun Dec 01, 2013 4:34 am

Hi everyone. Im new to this forum, i am a hobby musician, played keyboard for about 10 years and am now thinking of evolving to the state of making electronic music via music programs like ableton, FP etc. I have to say, I have pretty much no knowledge of the subject, terminology, or how things works when it comes to making music electronically. But ill try to explain what I know and what i would like to know.

I love darkpsy and thats the genre i would like to explore. I think ill go for ableton since i have a friend that can teach me this but first i have to know what hardware i need. As i am a old school keyboardist, i would prefer to have a midi controller at hand instead of just using a DAW piano bar with mouse-clicking. In the beginning i wont buy any hardware synths but just be using whatever soft synths there is which is compatible with this ableton program. BUT i need a midi controller, which is at this moment, my only way of expressing myself musically.

But then again, im at a loss. The more reviews I read, the more confused i get. I am customed to a korg triton with 61 keys and i would need at least a midi controller with the same key amount because im gonna use the keyboard not just for music production via computer but also for recreational use with two-hand playing. I have been looking at the m-audio axiom 61 and the novation impulse-series as the knobs and handles seems convenient though i dont know shit about how those knobs and handles works contra a DAW program.

So please everyone, can you please give me a lead, an advice, an introduction to how i can evolve my interest this wast- world? Much appreciated.

Best regards, Steffen.